111 Loyola Student-Athletes honored at Academic Awards Ceremony

Tue, 04/29/2014

Brandon Snow was one of 111 Wolf Pack athletes honored

(New Orleans, La.) Loyola University New Orleans Department of Athletics and Wellness honored 111 student-athletes at the 10th Annual Scholar-Athlete Awards Ceremony in the St. Charles Room of the Danna Center Monday evening.

Director of Athletics and Wellness/Head Men’s Basketball Coach Dr. Michael Giorlando served as the Master of Ceremonies as the Wolf Pack honored student-athletes across the four colleges at Loyola. The College of Business celebrated 42 student- athletes, the College of Humanities and Natural Science honored 41. The College of Social Sciences had 19 student-athletes recognized while nine from the College of Music and Fine Arts received awards.

Students were honored on the bronze team if their GPA for the 2013 calendar year fell between 3.00 and 3.49. Silver team recognition was earned if a student’s GPA was between 3.5 and 3.99 while gold team was reserved for a 4.0 GPA. The Baseball team led all squads with 31 honorees. The Cross Country/Track program had 29 honorees. Men’s Basketball had 12 players named while Women’s Volleyball followed with 11. The Tennis and Golf programs each had 10 players recognized at the Awards Ceremony. Women’s Basketball had eight players honored.

Andrew Fournet (Baseball), Jacquelyn Gross (XC/Track), Nathan Pierre (MBB), Kenny Tsao (XC/Track), Francesca Vaccaro (XC/Track), and Megan Whittaker (WBB) were the six student-athletes who were named to the gold team for their academic efforts for the spring 2013 and fall 2013. Both Vaccaro and Gross were named to the Gold team for the second consecutive year. Additionally, 34 students were named to the Silver Team for their efforts over the last calendar year.

Seventeen Wolf Pack players received awards as Daktronics NAIA Scholar-Athletes: Kaitlyn Broadbent (Volleyball), Michael Corso (XC/Track), Richard Dempsey (Baseball), Paul Freese (XC/Track), Manuel “Rocco” Gandara (MBB), Rebekah Greer (WBB), Cameron Hill (MBB), Annie Hills (XC/Track), Katherine Krtalic (Tennis), Joshua Laviolette (Tennis), Callie McNally (WBB), Janeicia Neely (WBB), Denise Powell (XC/Track), Justin Romaire (Baseball), Brandon Snow (Baseball), Sarah Tortorich (Track), and Megan Whittaker (WBB).

View the photos from Monday's ceremony!

The women’s cross country team finished with the highest team GPA for the 2013 calendar year as the entire squad combined for a 3.55 GPA. The men’s basketball team had a 3.31 GPA to top the male teams.

Give Now