Gill named All-Louisiana; Stansberry,Worsham earn honorable mention

Wed, 12/15/2010

RUSTIN, La. – Three Loyola volleyball players earned All-Louisiana honors on Tuesday evening as announced by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association. Junior Gina Gill was named first-team while freshman Sabrina Stansberry and sophomore Samantha Worsham took honorable mention.

Gill, a 5-10 outside hitter from Baton Rouge, La., made first-team All-Louisiana for the second straight season. As in the previous year, Gill was the only non-NCAA Division-I player to be named first-team by the LSWA.

Gill finished in the top 10 in the NAIA in kills (643), kills per set (4.5), and aces (72). Her kill total was the second best for a single season in Wolfpack history and she currently sits at third on the all-time list with 1,454 career kills. Gill tallied double digit kills in all but two matches this season including eight contests of 20 or more. Along with being named All-Louisiana, she earned all-conference honors for the third time after being named All-SSAC.

Stansberry, also from Baton Rouge, earned honorable mention following her stellar freshman season. The 5-10 middle blocker batted down 88 attempts on the year, ranking eighth in the SSAC. Stansberry had 261 kills while hitting .300 on her way to being named SSAC All-Division West and All-Freshman.

Worsham, a native of Chicago, Ill., had the fourth best single season in LU history with 1,287 assists. She led the SSAC in the category and was second with 9.1 assists/set. Worsham recorded 40 or more assists in seven contests which included a pair of 50-plus performances. The 5-7 setter also ranked sixth in the SSAC in aces (55) and 11th in digs (349).

Joining Gill on the LSWA first-team are four LSU players which includes Player of the Year Angela Bensend and Freshman of the Year Desiree Elliot. Also making first-team were Newcomer of the Year, Tulane’s Izabela Grot, and Libero of the Year, Louisiana Tech’s Lori Hunsucker. LSU head coach Fran Flory was tabbed Coach of the Year.

Loyola finished the year with a 25-14 record which is the fourth most in program history. The ‘Pack had a 6-2 record in conference play and were 22-6 against NAIA competition. LU went 10-2 against schools in Louisiana which included wins over UNO and Centenary.

2010 LSWA Volleyball Postseason Award Winners

All-Louisiana First-Team
Name, Team, Pos., Yr., Hometown (Previous School)
Angela Bensend, LSU, OH, Sr., Plano, Texas (Frisco Centennial HS)
Desiree Elliott, LSU, MB, Fr., Cypress, Texas (Cypress Woods HS)
Gina Gill, Loyola, OH, Jr., Baton Rouge, La. (St. Michael HS)
Izabela Grot, Tulane, OH, Rs.-So., Krakow, Poland (Kansas State)
Lori Hunsucker, LA Tech, L, Sr., Katy, Texas (Blinn JC)
Brittney Johnson, LSU, S, Sr., Baton Rouge, La. (University HS)
Michele Williams, LSU, MB, Jr., Magnolia, Texas (Magnolia HS)


All-Louisiana Second-Team
Name, Team, Pos., Yr., Hometown (Previous School)
Becky Bekelja, McNeese St., S, So., League City, Texas (Clear Creek)
Lindsay Brown, ULL, L, Sr., Yorba Linda, Calif. (El Dorado HS)
Edina Dobi, New Orleans, OH, Sr., Eger, Hungary
Kara Jones, LA Tech, MB, Sr., Moody, Texas (Moody HS)
Cori Martone, Tulane, OH, Fr., Baton Rouge, La. (St. Joseph’s HS)
Lesley Mirarchi, ULL, MB, Jr., Plano, Texas (Plano Senior HS)
Laranda Spann, NW, State, MB, Sr., Baton Rouge, La. (Woodlawn HS)

Honorable Mention: Bianca Bin (Louisiana Tech), Mahogany Dilonga (ULM), Mandi Gavin (Louisiana-Lafayette), Allison Jones (Southeastern Louisiana), Mandi Jones (LSU), Milica Jovic (Tulane), Katie Kennedy (McNeese State), Kassia Pinto (Louisiana Tech), Sabrina Stansberry (Loyola), Samantha Worsham (Loyola).

Player of the Year: Angela Bensend, Sr., OH, LSU
Freshman of the Year: Desiree Elliott, Fr., MB, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Izabela Grot, Rs.-So., OH, Tulane
Libero of the Year: Lori Hunsucker, Sr., L, Louisiana Tech
Coach of the Year: Fran Flory, LSU

Give Now