Loyola Track and Field captures seven all-conference honors

Thu, 05/23/2013

Denise Powell was one of 13 Wolf Pack runners to earn All-Conference recognition

(New Orleans, La.) Loyola University New Orleans Track and Field captured eight all-conference honors at the Southern States Athletic Conference Championship meet held at Shorter University’s Maddox Track at Barron Stadium in Rome, Georgia.

All-Conference recognition is awarded to players who finish in the top three of their respective events.

Sarah Tortorich captured three honors as she finished in third place at the 100 and 200 meter distances. After tying the school record in the preliminary round with a 12.53. The senior tied her own mark which was set in 2011. Tortorich then posted a 12.78 time in the finals to secure third. The New Orleans native continued the meet with a time of 25.95 in the 200 meter race. She then followed that by teaming with, Raquel Derganz-Baker, Harley Augustine, and Denise Powell to post a time of 4:11.06 in the 4x400 race which was good for third place at the meet.

Powell also earned All-Conference honors individually as the sophomore posted a time of 5:15.79 to barely edge out two Emmanuel runners for third place in the 1500 meter race.

Powell was also the second leg of the women's 4x800 team that finished in third place with a time of 10:09.91.  Powell was joined on the squad by Emma Larson, Elizabeth Gienger, and Francesca Vaccaro.  The foursome broke the school record of 11:39.8 which had stood since 1999.

On the men’s side, Carlos Flores secured All-Conference recognition with a third place finish in the shot put. His distance of 10.41m was just behind the second place distance of 10.46m. Flores, a sophomore from Miami, Florida, had the best mark of the season at the conference meet.

Piero Ramirez helped account for the last two SSAC honors as he circled the track in 50.57 seconds in the 400 meter race. The time was good for second place and set a school record in the distance. The 4x400 team of Piero Ramirez, Claude Nelson, Mario Ramirez, and William Maye also took home All-Conference honors. The relay team posted a time of 3:24.52, which was almost six seconds faster than the foursome’s previous best time and school record. They finished in second place at the conference meet.

All-Conference Awards
Sarah Tortorich-100 meters
Sarah Tortorich-200 meters
Denise Powell-1500 meters
Women’s 4x400 meter relay- Sarah Tortorich, Raquel Derganz-Baker, Harley Augustine, Denise Powell
Women's 4x800 meter relay- Emma Larson, Denise Powell, Elizabeth Gienger, Francesca Vaccaro

Piero Ramirez-400 meters
Carlos Flores-Shot Put
Men’s 4x400 meter relay- Piero Ramirez, Claude Nelson, Mario Ramirez, William Maye


Give Now