No. 23 Women's Basketball Welcomes Auburn Montgomery to The Den on Saturday

Fri, 01/27/2012

NEW ORLEANS, La. – The 23rd ranked Loyola University New Orleans women’s basketball team (16-2, 8-2 SSAC) will host the Warhawks of Auburn University Montgomery (10-10, 4-6 SSAC) on Saturday at 2 p.m. CT. The game will take place in The DEN and will be broadcast on the SSAC website as the conference game of the day.

Loyola and AUM will be meeting for the third time in the series history on Saturday. The Warhawks won the only two previous meetings last year by a score of 63-66 in Montgomery and 50-51 in New Orleans.

Loyola is 8-2 over Southern States Athletic Conference opponents this year. Last time out, Loyola defeated William Carey 85-71 in The DEN. Senior guard Keiva Council led a well-balanced Wolfpack offense in which nine players scored. The ‘Pack also shot 54.8 percent (34-for-62) from the floor in the win and managed 71.4 percent (15-for-21) from the free throw line. Loyola also forced a season-best 29 turnovers with 13 steals. Council led the defensive strike with a season-high six steals.

As a team, the Wolfpack lead the NAIA in field goal percentage (48.7 percent) and are fifth in three-point field goal percentage (35.8 percent).

The Warhawks will be playing their third straight road game when they take on the ‘Pack Thursday. Most recently, AUM took a 65-59 decision at the University of New Orleans.

Sophomore guard Keisha Moore leads the Warhawk offense as the only player averaging double-figure points with 14.7 points per game. She also leads the AUM defense with 42 steals on the season and averaging 2.1 steals per game.

Tickets are $6 for adults and $3 for children. Students who present his or her Loyola student ID will receive free admission. Saturday’s game is also Loyola’s Hall of Fame Ceremony where the 2012 inductee class will be announced during halftime of the men’s game at 4 p.m. CT. For more information, please call (504)864-PACK. Fans can also like Loyola athletics on Facebook ( and follow us on Twitter (

Give Now